Children's Book Sequels Blog

Updates & Book Reviews for Children's Book Sequels

Tamarind and the Star of Ishta by Jasbinder Bilan

September 20, 2020

Click here to order from Hive, Waterstones or Amazon UK

Tamarind, her father, and new stepmother are on their way to India, for Tamarind to meet and stay with her late mother’s Indian family while her father takes his new wife away on honeymoon. Needless to say, Tamarind isn’t keen on the idea of being dumped with people she’s never met for a whole week. The journey to the family house in the foothills of the Himalayas takes forever and Tamarind is amazed to see such a large house, compared to their small one in Bristol. She knows this is the house where her mother Chinty, grew up, her grandmother, Aunt Simran, Uncle Ruben, and cousins Kamaal, Arjun & Sufia still live there.
Tamarind is hoping to find out about the mother she never knew, but every time she brings the subject up, no one wants to talk about it. Storming off in a huff one day she discovers a hut in the very large garden. She’s been told not to enter but when she finds a hidden key the temptation is too much. So unravels the story of Chinty, Tamarind’s mother who died very young, and the clues that she left behind. Finding the Star of Ishta and a willing little helper called Hanu, the truth is gradually uncovered.
Once again Jasbinder has transported us to another part of the world, with wonderful descriptions of the house and a very large garden with all its secrets along with all the smells & colour of the local food. I also loved the map and the family tree as added extras. Who doesn’t love a map?
If you loved Asha and the Spirit Bird, buy, borrow and read this now, you won’t be disappointed.

Well, this has been a busy month with the arrival of the Autumn / Winter Bookseller’s children’s Buyer’s Guide. I’ve been through the lists and added updates and new series to https://childrensbooksequels.co.uk, but because of Covid -19 a lot of the publication dates have changed, so please click through to check with the Waterstones, Hive, …

Continue reading

It is the holidays and Hal’s Uncle Nat has asked him to come with him on the California Comet. A classic American train journey from Chicago to San Francisco. As soon as Hal arrives at the great central station in Chicago, complete with a sketchbook, the adventures start to happen. He can’t sketch quick enough …

Continue reading

Aleja lives in Seville in Spain. She wants adventure and freedom, but is bound by domestic chores at home. But that changes when she gets a chance to join the Ship of Shadows. A magical ship crewed by female pirates. There are secrets, magic rooms on board ship, and a large library but Aleja feels …

Continue reading

Book Review – Orca Rising by Chris Hannon

June 18, 2020

The GCSE exams are over and a long summer holiday stretches in front of Ocean Daley. He really doesn’t want to help his stepdad on a building site, and he’s not sure about going back to school for A Levels. When a stranger arrives and says he’s Ocean’s uncle, his dead father’s brother, things start getting interesting. Ocean is invited to a summer school in Leicestershire, but when he arrives there only 5 other pupils from different parts of the world. They are set different tasks from computer coding, physical fitness and psychology. If they fail they will be asked to leave.

When Ocean and Dante are sent on their first mission, they begin to realise that something isn’t right. Is Hinkley Farm a place of good or evil? The motto is “By shadow we craft a future of our own making”

The first in a series, Orca Rising is a great story for fans of Anthony Horowitz, Robert Muchamore and Eoin Colfer, it is full of action and adventure, set in a relatable world.
I was given the book for an honest and frank review. For more details and to order the Orca books click here.

%d bloggers like this: