Children's Book Sequels Blog

Updates & Book Reviews for Children's Book Sequels

Book Review – Orca Rising by Chris Hannon

June 18, 2020

The GCSE exams are over and a long summer holiday stretches in front of Ocean Daley. He really doesn’t want to help his stepdad on a building site, and he’s not sure about going back to school for A Levels. When a stranger arrives and says he’s Ocean’s uncle, his dead father’s brother, things start getting interesting. Ocean is invited to a summer school in Leicestershire, but when he arrives there only 5 other pupils from different parts of the world. They are set different tasks from computer coding, physical fitness and psychology. If they fail they will be asked to leave.

When Ocean and Dante are sent on their first mission, they begin to realise that something isn’t right. Is Hinkley Farm a place of good or evil? The motto is “By shadow we craft a future of our own making”

The first in a series, Orca Rising is a great story for fans of Anthony Horowitz, Robert Muchamore and Eoin Colfer, it is full of action and adventure, set in a relatable world.
I was given the book for an honest and frank review. For more details and to order the Orca books click here.

Book Review: The Enigma Game by Elizabeth Wein

May 14, 2020

The Enigma Game, Paperback / softback Book

Click the image to order online and collect from your local independent bookshop

Set during the Second World War, The Enigma Game takes place near an RAF base in Scotland, in a local inn. The airman leave silver sixpences in the cracks in the wooden mantlepiece and use the money for a pint of beer on their safe return. Continue reading

Book Review – Fig Swims the World by Lou Abercrombie

March 26, 2020

Fig Swims the World (Paperback)

Click on image to order from Waterstones.

Fig is clever, she lives at home with a younger brother, Mum and Dad. But she is bullied at school, pushed to do more study at home by her mother and is generally fed up. She is 15 and wants more. Her mother has come up with a New Year’s resolution for Fig, acting classes with the local drama club. But for someone like Fig, awful. Fig’s New Year’s resolution was a bit different, she is going to swim the world. 19 fresh or salt water races in 6 continents, over the space of a year. Slight problem – she can’t swim. But as her very protective, pushy mother says resolutions should not be broken.
So begins an adventure into the unknown, the making of lasting friendships, a growing confidence in herself, that she could achieve something that her mother had no control over, and having the strength to stand up for herself.
In this age of mobile technology and social media, Fig finds the strength to turn off her phone and enjoy the journey.
This is a debut novel and I loved it.
I was given this e-book via net galley and Little Tiger Press for a frank and honest review.

Book Review: The Unstoppable Letty Pegg by Iszi Lawrence

March 8, 2020

The Unstoppable Letty Pegg, Paperback / softback Book

Click on the image to order online and collect from your local independent bookseller.

It is 1910 and the fight for votes for women is gathering momentum, with weekly protests and meetings.

Letty Pegg lives at home with her middle class mother who is very involved in the suffragette movement, and her working class, hardworking  father who is a policeman. She also has to cope with a very fastidious and Edwardian Grandmother.

Continue reading

Book Review: Adventures on Trains: The Highland Falcon Thief by M.G. Leonard & Sam Sedgman. Illustrated by Elisa Paganelli

February 16, 2020

Order on line here.

Full steam ahead for a fast paced adventure.

The Highland Falcon, Britain’s famous steam train, is set to depart for one last journey around England and Scotland, calling at Balmoral to collect a Prince and Princess and returning to Paddington. Harrison Beck’s Uncle Nat loves steam trains, writes books and articles about travel and trains and he has a ticket for this wonderful trip. Harrison’s mum is expecting a baby any minute now so she sends Harrison off on the train with his uncle. Four days on a train! thinks Harrison, there are no other children and it will be boring.
So begins a fast speed journey, with a motley selection of guests on board.

Bits of jewellery begin to go missing and Harrison, as the only child on board gets the blame. Determined to find out the truth, Harrison begins his own investigation, and gets help from an unexpected quarter. Continue reading

%d bloggers like this: