Children's Book Sequels Blog

Updates & Book Reviews for Children's Book Sequels

Another Twist in the Tale by Catherine Bruton

December 10, 2020

no ballet shoes in syria nosy crow middle grade 9 year old stocking filler oliver twist fiction book
Click here to order from Bookshop.org

If you’ve seen the film Oliver! or read Oliver Twist by Charles Dickens you’ll love this new book from Catherine Bruton.
This is literally another Twist, a girl brought into the world minutes ahead of her better known brother Oliver, who is now heir to the Brownlow fortune. But baby girls left at the workhouse in Victorian London are considered less worth than boys and too expensive to keep. So she is left by the riverside on a rubbish heap in the snow.
But all is not lost. The baby girl is discovered by Baggage Jones who names her Twill, as she makes a noise like a little bird, and she grows up with Baggage and her friends who work in one of the more notorious gambling dens South of the river
The time passes quickly until Twill is 14 and she is growing up fast. The owner of the gambling den has plans for her but Baggage manages to get Twill to safety in time. Left to her own devices Twill begins her adventures North of the river meeting the Sassy Sisterhood, the Artful Dodger, and other characters we recognise from Oliver’s story.
Twill is a string charter, capable of making her own decisions and not shy of coming forward to say what she thinks.
It’s a great book, full heroes and villains , and you can almost smell the atmosphere in some of the scenes. A great take on a classic story. Buy it or reserve from your local library and you won’t be disappointed.

Tamarind and the Star of Ishta by Jasbinder Bilan

September 20, 2020

Click here to order from Hive, Waterstones or Amazon UK

Tamarind, her father, and new stepmother are on their way to India, for Tamarind to meet and stay with her late mother’s Indian family while her father takes his new wife away on honeymoon. Needless to say, Tamarind isn’t keen on the idea of being dumped with people she’s never met for a whole week. The journey to the family house in the foothills of the Himalayas takes forever and Tamarind is amazed to see such a large house, compared to their small one in Bristol. She knows this is the house where her mother Chinty, grew up, her grandmother, Aunt Simran, Uncle Ruben, and cousins Kamaal, Arjun & Sufia still live there.
Tamarind is hoping to find out about the mother she never knew, but every time she brings the subject up, no one wants to talk about it. Storming off in a huff one day she discovers a hut in the very large garden. She’s been told not to enter but when she finds a hidden key the temptation is too much. So unravels the story of Chinty, Tamarind’s mother who died very young, and the clues that she left behind. Finding the Star of Ishta and a willing little helper called Hanu, the truth is gradually uncovered.
Once again Jasbinder has transported us to another part of the world, with wonderful descriptions of the house and a very large garden with all its secrets along with all the smells & colour of the local food. I also loved the map and the family tree as added extras. Who doesn’t love a map?
If you loved Asha and the Spirit Bird, buy, borrow and read this now, you won’t be disappointed.

Book Review – Orca Rising by Chris Hannon

June 18, 2020

The GCSE exams are over and a long summer holiday stretches in front of Ocean Daley. He really doesn’t want to help his stepdad on a building site, and he’s not sure about going back to school for A Levels. When a stranger arrives and says he’s Ocean’s uncle, his dead father’s brother, things start getting interesting. Ocean is invited to a summer school in Leicestershire, but when he arrives there only 5 other pupils from different parts of the world. They are set different tasks from computer coding, physical fitness and psychology. If they fail they will be asked to leave.

When Ocean and Dante are sent on their first mission, they begin to realise that something isn’t right. Is Hinkley Farm a place of good or evil? The motto is “By shadow we craft a future of our own making”

The first in a series, Orca Rising is a great story for fans of Anthony Horowitz, Robert Muchamore and Eoin Colfer, it is full of action and adventure, set in a relatable world.
I was given the book for an honest and frank review. For more details and to order the Orca books click here.

New series and updates added May 2020 part 2

June 2, 2020

Click image to order online.
Click image to order online.

Hi everyone, I hope you are doing ok in these strange times. Here in the UK we are coming out of lockdown very slowly, with shops trying to re open with all the new safety measures in place. Our independent bookshops need us more than ever now. You can order nearly all the titles on childrensbooksequels.co.uk online at Hive, by clicking the button next to the title, have it delivered or collect from your local bookshop.

Children’s Book Sequels is affiliated to Hive, Waterstones, Amazon UK, Amazon USA and Indie Bound in the USA. This is the only way I make any money so I am asking you to consider going through one of the affiliate buttons when you order an item.

I’ve added lots of titles over these last few weeks, some have had their publication dates changed, due to Covid-19 so do check when ordering.

So here’s the list of new series and updates: Click on the title and the link will take you to the right page at childrensbooksequels.co.uk

Continue reading

New series and updates added May 2020 part 1

May 18, 2020

Hi everyone, I hope you are all coping with the lockdown in your own way. I’ve been busy adding lots of titles and new series to www,childrensbooksequels.co.uk and there’s a long list below. If you click on the title it will take you to the relevant series page on the website.
Also a very big thank you to Michelle Harrison for sending me images for the blog header. You can find her page here: Michelle Harrison. 
If you are a children’s author, have a page on the childrensbooksequels.co.uk website and would like your series at the top of the blog page, please contact me via DM on twitter @ChiBkSequels
As I have mentioned before, the only way I make any money from the website is from affiliate links, so please consider ordering the books through the Waterstones, Hive, and Amazon links. You don’t have to just buy the linked item, anything will count as you’ve gone in via childrensbooksequels.co.uk .
I hope to make enough to cover the server charges, I don’t make enough to make a living but I enjoy doing it, and I hope it makes your life easier and you enjoy using the website.
So here’s the long list; happy reading.

Continue reading

%d bloggers like this: